lifestyle

A little individuality

 

“No one is you and that is your power”-Dave Grohl

It is so easy to be swallowed up into this world and all its fads that you end giving up who you are and sometimes you’re not even aware of it. Do not get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with delving into the latest trend and/or just being a fashionable person in general. There is however something wrong with changing your entire being to fit into what the world wants and disregarding your persona.

“Why fit in when you were born to stand out?”-Dr Seuss

It’s such a cliché, I know. When I observe people I noticed that they want to embody this quote lock, stock and barrel but sometimes (more often than not) it’s easier to tweak yourself to fit in than to be who you want and suffer rejection. When I was in high school, I remember my English teacher telling us that one of the worst things a human being can go through emotionally is rejection. I can see how that is true because we all want to feel like we belong somehow, somewhere… Anywhere.
I used to look at people like Lady Gaga and Jeffree Star and think, “maybe individuality means I have to be comfortable with being eccentric and quirky. Maybe if I never reach the level of having pink eyebrows without worrying what people think then I will never master this individuality thing”. What I failed to look at is that these people were just being. Being over the top is who they are and they aren’t just doing that to say “Hey world! Look at me, I’m different” but they are making the world fall in love with their authenticity.
You just have to embrace who you are; every fibre of your being, every inch of your skin and every imperfection you have. I loved myself a heartbeat after I embraced my entirety as a human being. Your being is what gives you leverage above everybody else and so, you should use it to its fullest and drop the façade.

You poppin, boo

 

Leave a Reply

