lifestyle

7 lessons from Hollywood’s leading ladies every millennial must know

 

source: lovebscott

Jada Pinkett-Smith on being respected:

“Worry about being respected, never worry about being liked because that’s the trap.”

Living in a society where people feel valued by the likes they get on their posts or the followers they gain on social media, it is incredibly easy to fall into the trap of wanting popularity regardless of how you earn it. I have come to realize that you lose yourself trying to earn the adoration of other people.

 

 

 

source: myfashionwants.com

Lupita Nyong’o on being a substantial person:

“You can’t rely on how you look to sustain you, what sustains us, what is fundamentally beautiful is compassion; for yourself and for those around you.”

You need to have more to your aesthetic. Looking beautiful is no sin but that should not be the end all and be all of what there is to you. You have to cultivate a character and a hustle that you pull you through life when looks fail you.

source: ebony.com

Taraji P Henson on working hard:

“You can’t sit on the sofa and pray for the turkey. Turkey’s not gonna come up to the door and say ‘Hey, shoot me and put me on the table.’ You pray for God to put you in the position to get the turkey, and then you work for the turkey, and that’s how you get a Thanksgiving dinner.”

source: celebmafia.com

 

Kerry Washington on being woke:

“Look, I get it. Whether it’s school, work, family, we’ve all got a lot on our minds. People say to me, “I’m just too busy to think about politics.” But here’s the thing: You may not be thinking about politics, but politics is thinking about you.”

A lot of millennials tend to be apolitical and this is a trend that is happening worldwide. Case in point: during the 2016 US presidential election people used their third party vote to vote for Harambe, Harry Styles and Selena Gomez. Another example is how there was an extremely low number of young voters in South Africa during the municipal elections. This just shows the little or lack of interest in what is happening in our governments and that is extremely nerve-wrecking when you consider that the youth today will have to be put into political power tomorrow. Politics may not be “cool” but they definitely deserve your attention and participation because they inadvertently affect you, the ones you love and the environment you live in.

source: WE TV

Viola Davis on self-assurance:

“You can’t be hesitant about who you are.”

This can be very hard to do when you are young because you are still discovering who you are and your personality is always changing. You however have to stand firm in whatever character traits you are embodying at any given point in time.

source: Just Jared Junior

Yara Shahidi on always learning:

“I don’t know everything. I know a fraction of what there is to know and I don’t think I will ever know everything, but it’s important to me to constantly challenge myself, to understanding different viewpoints, really understanding nuance in topics, so I can feel qualified in what I say, so I’m not preaching falsely of what I’m unaware of.”

source: WWD.com

Tracee Ellis Ross on making better choices: 

“Wisdom means to choose now what will make sense later.”

How often do you find yourself looking back and thinking “I could have made a better decision in this aspect?” I find myself doing that all the time. I am suddenly stuck with having two assignments to hand in and 2 tests to study for in one week because I spend the two past weeks streaming series. Usually I know better, I just don’t do better… And I know that is not the case with me only.

Which of these did you need to know the most? Comment below

Don’t forget to subscribe

peace and love 

Leave a Reply

